×Sign up, and CougarBoard will remember which categories you want to view. Sign up
May 16, 2019
11:53:56am
mannheimadler All-American
Here is what NHL rule 79.1 says
79.1 "A player shall be permitted to stop or “bat” a puck in the
air with his open hand, or push it along the ice with his hand, and the
play shall not be stopped unless, in the opinion of the on-ice officials,
he has directed the puck to a teammate, or has allowed his team to
gain an advantage, and subsequently possession and control of the
puck is obtained by a player of the offending team, either directly or
deflected off any player or official."

http://www.nhl.com/nhl/en/v3/ext/rules/2018-2019-NHL-rulebook.pdf

See page 119, PDF page 130.

So here, it is not saying that it has to directly lead to the goal. It says it is a hand pass if "batted" to a teammate or if it "allowed his team to gain an advantage, and subsequently possession and control of the puck is obtained by a player of the offending team."

The hand pass happens several times a game. You are allowed to do it in your defensive zone, but not in the neutral zone or your offensive zone.

And based on that last sentence there, if it's deflected it's not enough because they go based off of possession and control of the puck.

The Sharks gained an advantage on the play because it was deflected to open teammates in front of the goal.

----


-----

tyrannosaurus_in_f-14s.jpg
Originally posted on May 16, 2019 at 11:53:56am
Message modified by mannheimadler on May 16, 2019 at 11:56:54am
Message modified by mannheimadler on May 16, 2019 at 12:44:22pm
Previous username
TomZarek
Bio page
mannheimadler
Joined
Aug 27, 2009
Last login
Sep 21, 2019
Total posts
5,328 (42 FO)
Recent feedback given
1 3 6
Recent feedback received
11 5
Messages
Author
Date

Posting on CougarBoard

In order to post, you will need to either sign up or log in.